Income Tax question

for general chat about stuff

Moderator: moderators

waterboy
Graduate

Income Tax question

Post by waterboy »

I'm giving a mate a hand doing their tax return. It's a good few years since I've done any income tax stuff and have a question regarding Capital Allowances if anyone can help.

Basically they were sole trading and PAYE for the last 2 years or so. This year they stopped the sole trading after a few months and just doing PAYE stuff now. They will now have unused capital allowances left unused. Can they use them all up this year to offset against income or can they only use the 12.5% as normal and it's just tough luck, and you lose the balance of the allowances unless they get other sole trade work at some future date?
tackle-bag
Rhys Ruddock

Re: Income Tax question

Post by tackle-bag »

I'm no expert, but as far as I know you can effectively only claim capital allowances, at the appropriate rate, for a year in which the trade is ongoing. This is subject to the usual caveat that to claim capital allowances, the capital asset must be in use at the end of the relevant basis period. Section 296 of the Taxes Consolidation Act 1997 deems you to claim capital allowances for years in which the trade is not carried on, but you will not have any income to set them against. The latter rule is primarily relevant for the purposes of calculating any balancing allowance/charge on the sale of the asset.
"Hickie, scorching down the wing... God, I've missed saying that!" - Ryle Nugent
Donny B.
Devin Toner

Post by Donny B. »

waterboy wrote:I'm giving a mate a hand doing their tax return.
:shock: I wish your mate well for his forth-coming court case so! :wink:
waterboy
Graduate

Post by waterboy »